Photo: Telegraph

Chancellor Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

University Chancellor Menzies “Ming” Campbell has been awarded a lifetime achievement award at The Herald Scottish Politician of the Year Awards 2016.

University Chancellor Menzies “Ming” Campbell represented the seat of North East Fife from 1987 until his retirement from the House of Commons at the 2015 General Election. He had stood for Parliament several times before becoming an MP, standing for Port Glasgow in February and October 1974, East Fife in 1979 and North East Fife in 1983. He then won the seat in 1987 from Conservative Barry Henderson. He retired at the end of the last Parliament and was replaced by Stephen Gethins, SNP’s Europe spokesperson at Westminster.

Lord Campbell lead the Liberal Democrat party from January 2006 until October 2007. He was nominated for a life peerage in the 2015 Dissolution Honours and is now officially known as:

‘The Right Honourable The Lord Campbell of Pittenweem CH CBE PC QC’

Before entering the world of politics Lord Campbell was known for his successful athletics career: holding the British record in the 100m sprint from 1967 and 1974 and captaining the Great Britain athletics team in 1965 and 1966. He was installed as Chancellor of the University of St Andrews in 2006, succeeding Professor Sir Kenneth Dover.

Lord Campbell’s long and ongoing career as a politician is one we can all admire as he continues to dedicate his life to public service. Our Chancellor received a standing ovation from the audience after accepting the award where he thanked his wife for ‘tolerating me and my politics for 46 years.’ I am confident we all appreciate it when he assures us that ‘there’s plenty of life in this old dog’ yet.

The other winners from The Herald Scottish Politician of the Year Awards 2016 included:

Best Scot at Westminster – David Mundell MP
Committee MSP of the Year – Mary Scanlon
Public Campaigner of the Year – No to Named Persons (NO2NP) Campaign
Donald Dewar Debater of the Year – Ruth Davidson MSP
Community MSP of the Year – Jackie Baillie MSP
Scottish Local Politician of the Year – Councillor Mark Macmillan leader Renfrewshire Council
One to Watch – Alex-Cole Hamilton MSP
Politics in Business Award – Fergus Ewing MSP
E-Politician – Johann Lamont MSP
Scottish Politician of the Year – Ruth Davidson MSP



7 thoughts on “Chancellor Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

  1. Pingback: meja qq
  2. Pingback: diamond painting
  3. Pingback: 링크모야
  4. Pingback: wig

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Stand